Realm of The Mushroomheads: Book 2 of The Highway Men is now available!

 

 

 

Picking up immediately after Realm of the War Pigs, Realm of the mushroomheads starts at the funeral of Jeremy Klein III, and follows Bailey Boxberger and her sister Sasha in their adventures in undoing their grandpa’s black magic.

The book is now available inebook and in paperback.  There was some issues with the paperback getting out in time…  But the important thing is they’re both available now.

 


 

Not going to lie, this novella took a lot longer to write than usual.

For starters, I had the brilliant idea of trying to write this alongside other writing projects at the exact same time.  I’d started this book while I was in the middle of writing a story under the working title of The Helen Tamzarian Papers, and I ended up starting another idea by the name of At Least We Aren’t Communists as I was writing this as well.  Then, I got recruited to write the script for someone else’s graphic novel.  So yeah, I’d gotten swamped these last several months.

Since then, the graphic novel has been canceled, The Helen Tamzarian Papers is sitting on the shelf, and At Least We Aren’t Communists…  Well, that one sees some additions every now and then, but for the most part, Realm of the Mushroomheads ended up being the story I finished first.

Weirdly, in the planning stages, Bailey wasn’t going to be the main character.  In fact, there never really was any plans of bringing in other family members in the initial planning stages.  Bailey and Sasha were tertiary at absolute best.  The fact they are named Bailey and Sasha are due to me needing names for cousins that got mentioned off-handedly in book 1, and I looked over at my TV (which had cable back then) to see that WWE was on, and Bayley and Sasha Banx were wrestling…  Someone.  I don’t even remember who anymore, but I figured “Okay, Bailey and Sasha it is.”

The next thing I know, I made changes to the overall plan after book 1 was in its final draft, and the two sisters, Bailey in particular, were now much more important characters in the story.  So much so, in fact, that Bailey will definitely be in book 3.

Now that I’m done with this, I can begin work on book 3 of the series.  Which, as of this writing, doesn’t even have a title.  So, stay tuned for that.

In the meantime, get your copy of Realm of the Mushroomheads today!

Leave a comment